THE VERDICT – Best Motion Picture: 2011

 

 

 

 

It took me almost a year.

Regarding my # 1, I was choosing between that to # 3, but what factored in is the emotional connection. # 1 just did it for me.

Anyway, here are the results…..

You can click on the titles for their profiles.

final

.

.

.

9. The Descendants

“It is a sad thing to see the actors really doing strong work, particularly Clooney, while the film is almost a soulless wreck. It is entertaining and funny at times, and the last twenty minutes are undeniably touching. It is also a letdown that Payne can actually deliver stories like this and make them into great films.”

3

Best Performance: George Clooney as Matt King
Best Scene: “Mom’s cheating on you”

.

.

8. War Horse

“This is a heartwarming film that has the capability to bring emotions that are definitely moving. However, a feeling of slight disappointment can be felt after watching the film. There is superb filmmaking in it, but some moments drown in over-sentimentality, but sentimentality is the way to go, and it succeeds most of the time. I was looking for some edginess, but there you go; there was none.”

4

Best Performance: David Kross as Gunther
Best Scene: No Man’s Land

.

.

7. The Help

“I am finding it hard to spot anything remarkable in the film aside from the ensemble cast. It is unashamedly a product of the mainstream, so it does stay in the safe zone, refusing to do anything risky and brave. But to take it for what it is, this film offers a relaxed film watching experience with some really powerful moments, thanks again to its cast.”

4

Best Performance: Viola Davis as Aibileen Clark
Best Scene: Death anniversary of Aibileen’s son

.

.

6. Moneyball

“It does not break any new ground, but its bone-deep look at the world of baseball and the people involved in it makes for a fascinating watch. This is a smart film, and you do not need to be a baseball enthusiast for you to like it. The expertise in filmmaking evident is enough to seal the deal.  I just wish I can love it more.”

4

Best Performance: Brad Pitt as Billy Beane
Best Scene: Oakland A’s final victory

.

.

5. Hugo

“Scorsese’s visible mastery of the craft is visible throughout the film. The film is obviously a work of someone who has years of experience, and that very experience shows in the execution of the film. The result is a film that gloriously visualizes the heart of the intertwining of the magnificence of cinema and the jubilant truth of childhood.”

5

Best Performance: Asa Butterfield as Hugo Cabret
Best Scene: Automaton works

.

.

4. Midnight in Paris

“It was a delight to my senses, I was mesmerized by the visuals, the intelligent humor worked for me, I appreciated its smooth narrative flow. But what was the big deal after all? For me, it was how absorbing the experience was. Time just flew by, and watching it was something that feels like a precious time.  The charming start of the film immediately got my fascination, and the ending just left me with a smile.”

5

Best Performance: Corey Stoll as Ernest Hemingway
Best Scene: Salvador Dali and the rhonoceros

.

3. The Tree of Life

“The film is a thing of beauty. It throws away any moment of hesitation and its conviction to tell this daring and nuanced examination of life, on how colossal it is and on how small moments define one’s very existence. The film goes down to the spirit and meaning of life, and the film does not dictate it; the film lets one to witness and experience the contemplation and let one think about it. What a brilliant film.”

5

Best Performance: Jessica Chastain as Mrs. O’ Brien
Best Scene: Creation of the universe

.

.

2. The Artist

“To say that the film is an admirable throwback to the bygone era of Hollywood would be a huge understatement. It confronts the risk of filmmaking both as a technical medium through the use of silent film techniques and as a way to draw the line between a mere film stunt and an earnest exercise on film form and how to use it. The film succeeds in so many levels that a rewatch of the film is something that I would do “with pleasure.””

5

Best Performance: Jean Dujardin as George Valentin
Best Scene: Fire

.

.

 

1. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

“This is a beautiful film. Not really because of any technical accomplishment that it has, but because it was able to find the beauty in humanity. With this film, what are presented to us are the dimensions of what makes human beings the human beings that they are. We all have flaws, and the film does not deny that fact. What it achieves is an examination of relationships that ultimately brings out the magnificence of being.”

5

Best Performance: Thomas Horn as Oskar Schell
Best Scene: “I love you”

.

.

.

I don’t know how was I able to finish this year this time since my academic load is FULL. At least, I’m done with 2011 (but I have a way to go before I can do my TFO Awards for 2011).

Next year, the clues:

  • “I’m gonna die today.”
  • “The art of survival…”
  • “I did not abandon my child.”

 

3 thoughts on “THE VERDICT – Best Motion Picture: 2011

  1. LOL to the clues for the next year. 🙂

    2011 is easily all about Tree of Life for me. I also liked War Horse, Moneyball and Extremely Loud. ELAIC – I would never have it as #1, but it’s a good film. Glad it got nominated over Girl with DT.

    Like

Please comment on the post - don't just read it! Lemme hear your thoughts.

