THE VERDICT – Best Motion Picture: 1994 (and some more…)

So, here are the results.

To tell you right now, # 5 actually improved (if I’m going to grade the film by my first viewing of it, it would be 1.5, seriously). # 4 was easy. #3 was hard to grade, particularly in comparison with # 2. # 1 has improved with me (formerl a 4.5, actually).

You can just click on the titles for their profiles.


.

.

.

.

.

5. Four Weddings and a Funeral

I suppose I was able to get the reason why people are charmed by this movie, but I am not. Some of the jokes are really funny, but the romance is dead. And how do you deal with it if the romance in a romantic film is useless? Okay film, anyway, but best picture? I’m not so sure.

2

Best Performance: Hugh Grant as Charles
Best Scene: The second wedding

.

.

.

4. Forrest Gump

As a drama, it works so well. The performances are very good, the technical achievements are noticeable, and there is no doubt that it has cultural significance. But with a screenplay that has superficiality as the one working for and working against the film, the final product is no less than good, but could have been better.

3

Best Performance: Tom Hanks as Forrest Gump
Best Scene: The flying feather at the start

.

.

.

3. Pulp Fiction

I know whit you might be thinking – # 3? Well, it still has to grow on me, and right now, I can say it’s somewhat flawed on tiny bits, particularly with the pacing, but how cool is this film, how sensational, how powerful, how dynamic! It’s a gun filled with explosive hits, and it’s not hard to see why it has that high reputation.

4

Best Performance: Uma Thurman as Mia Wallace
Best Scene: Trying to revive Mia

.

.

.

2. Quiz Show

It’s really intelligent, and it was able to set the whole story in through  the exchange of words of the characters, yet it was able to manage its pacing, keeping me on the edge of my seat as I watch the film. It’s quite thrilling when you watch a film like this – smart, but not self-indulgent, fascinating, but never that showy.

4

Best Performance: Ralph Fiennes as Charles Van Doren
Best Scene: Stempel’s wrong answer – “Marty”

.

.

.

1. The Shawshank Redemption

How could a gritty, almost haunting yet slow moving story of men inside the prison be such a fascinating cinematic experience? With powerful performances and sincerity in it, this heartfelt drama is a very effective showcase of cinema at its most humane and most inspiring.

Best Performance: Tim Robbins as Andy Dufresne
Best Scene: Andy’s escape from the prison

.

.

.
So, it was quite a good year for Best Picture line-up. Aside from Four Weddings, each have their own strengths that make them worthy contenders in the race.

Having Forrest Gump as the winner,

I should say # 2 was The Shawshank Redemption because of the very positive things about it, even with the lukewarm box-office it had.

Pulp Fiction was # 3 because those who love the film love the film, and I am sure a number of Academy members did.

# 4 was Quiz Show because it is cool, smart, period, and directed by an actor.

Four Weddings and a Funeral is # 5. Quality aside, the nomination baffled me. I mean, Bullets Over Broadway had seven nominations including Best Director, and The Lion King is nominated for 4 Oscars. Well, whatever. I guess the Brits got it.

.

As said in the title, there are more things in this post. Since after finishing 1994, I already completed my

50th Best Picture Profile.

So, for that, I took a look back at the nominees reviewed, and I give myself the privilege to adjust their scores, but I won’t change their scores in their reviews, by the way.

Increased Scores

.

Oliver (1968)

from

to

.

The Blind Side (2009)

from

to

.

.

Decreased Scores

.

Romeo and Juliet (1968)

from

to

.

Goodfellas (1990)

from

to

.

.

Here are my picks for each year:

1968: The Lion in Winter
1988: Working Girl
1990: The Shawshank Redemption
2001: The Lord of the Rings – The Fellowship of the Ring
2007: Atonement
2009: Inglourious Basterds
2010: Inception

Here are the bottom 3 nominees (arranged chronologically):

Rachel, Rachel (1968)
Romeo and Juliet (1968)
There Will Be Blood (2007)

What’s you pick? Do you agree with the Academy, or with me, or you have a different choice?

.

But before we proceed with the next year, FINALLY, I’m going to hold the

I’m excited myself! Everything is ready – just the posts :P!

Official start of the awards will be on the following posts.

2 thoughts on “THE VERDICT – Best Motion Picture: 1994 (and some more…)

  1. I seriously doubt Shawshank was Academy’s runner-up. 🙂 I think it was easily Pulp Fiction (not that anything was much of a threat to Gump).

    The Blind Side 4? [drops dead] 🙂 the same rating as masterpiece Goodfellas? :)) funny.

    Like

    • well, it was guesswork. Pulp was too indie and to hip for the Academy to embrace.

      Goodfellas = The Blind Side? 😀 TBS was not great, but very watchable, Goodfellas was great, but not very watchable (I know many will disagree), so they kind of met ways. 🙂

      Like

Please comment on the post - don't just read it! Lemme hear your thoughts.

