THE VERDICT – Best Motion Picture: 2010

Finally, this year has come to a close.

#10 and #9 are easy to rank, but I know I need to look back at these movies. The rest was a struggle to rank. I have my own favorites, but as I tried to keep an open mind for me to decide who actually is the best movie, I just got myself into bigger trouble. 😛

I’m going to state the verdict for each nominee not in the formal way that I usually do, but just in the moment feelings for each.

You can just click on the titles for their profiles.

Well, this was a very good year, I can tell you that right now. So, to start this year immediately, here are the nominees:

.

.

.

.

10. The Kids Are All Right

When I watch it again, I know my feeling for this change again. But as of know, here are my thought s for this film: great acting, skillful direction, knowledgeable screenplay, timely topic, sensitive, funny, dramatic, but anything special? Not sure yet.

4

Best Performance: Annette Bening as Nic Allgood
Best Scene: Confronting Laser

.

.

.

9. 127 Hours

It’s very dynamic, very energetic, very hopeful, anchored with a very good performance by James Franco with very well-handled direction and very well-written  screenplay that brings you to the very extremes of your emotions, but verily I say to you, I’m not 100% in love with this film.

4

Best Performance: James Franco (who else?) as Aron Ralston
Best Scene: For the first time, walking outside the boulder

.

.

.

8.True Grit

I don’t know how to describe this sublimely made, but romanticized Western drama kind of fits the bill for this. Testosterone is flowing in this film from its male actors, and in contrast to that, Hailee Steinfeld gives the warm emotional core of this film. Don’t want to compare this to the disastrous 1969 version, but shame on that. This is magnificent.

5

Best Performance: Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross
Best Scene: Mattie crossing the river by herself

.

.

.

7. Winter’s Bone

Aside from The Kids Are All Right, this is the simplest of the movies in this roster of films. It captures the harsh realities of life that are gut-wrenching to watch. To see the main character encounter all of these horrible things may not seem to be a good subject in the film, the craftsmanship is indelibly evident.

5
Best Performance: Jennifer Lawrence as Ree Dolly
Best Scene: Lake scene

.

.

.

6. Toy Story 3

It’s a fantastic, rousing, and lovely film is as good as animation can get. It’s funny, but it’s also full of heart and soul. The voice acting is really special, and it’s just as exciting as a film can get. It’s so enjoyable and I personally love it. So why this rating? Let’s be honest. This film could not have been this powerful if the first two movies did not exist. So anyway, it’s still powerful. I just need to be fair.

Best Performance: Woody Allen as Buzz Lightyear
Best Scene: Incinerator scene
...

5. The Social Network

Exhilarating screenplay, brilliant direction, astounding performances, cultural significance. This film symbolizes the capacity of movies to anchor an entire generation in it. but enough of the generation stuff. This film is simply fantastic. Every element of filmmaking is in work here to give us what we have become after a cultural phenomenon hit our generation. Oh, here come’s the generation stuff again.

Best Performance: Jesse Eisenberg as Mark Zuckerberg
Best Scene: (randomly picked) “Did I adequately answer your condescending question?” scene

.

.
.

4. The Fighter

The story is the familiar boxing story. But the screenplay itself adds a lot of humanity in it, the direction gives of the vibrant urgency of the film that makes this a very special one, and the actors invade the screen with blazing power and energy. Never have been a sports movie so accessible, so humane, so powerful, so enjoyable, and so great.

Best Performance: Melissa Leo as Alice Ward
Best Scene: Charlene versus the Seven Sisters scene

.

.

.

3. Black Swan

It’s not perfect, but it’s still so damn great. Why is it, then? First, the direction that’s really one of the best ever. Then, we have Natalie Portman giving one of the best performances an actress may give. We have the filmmaking process that stretches beyond the unthinkable to create something that is quite earth-shattering. The potency is very visible,  and the collaboration results to a film with staggering impact. I loved ballet after watching this, by the way.

Best Performance: Natalie Portman as Nina Sayers
Best Scene: From dancing the Black Swan for the first time unto the finale
..
.

2. The King’s Speech

I don’t know how this film reached this point of this list, but really just keeps on getting better and better on repeated viewings. It’s a delicately told story of a man who fought for himself, his family, and his country, excising all the fears that he had with the help of a friend. It’s so inspiring, and the film itself is inspired. I guess, this is the kind of film that really grows on you. Repeated viewings is a must for this film.

Best Performance: Colin Firth as King George IV / Bertie
Best Scene: The Queen Mother meeting Lionel Logue for the  first time

 .

.

.
 

1. Inception

I changed my mind four times before I came up with this pick. I guess, all I can say is that the film is miraculous in every way possible. The concept itself is pretty mindblowing. Then the images come in with vast imagination, extreme creativity, stunning gorgeousness, and transporting power. This is a work of a visionary like no other. Then the sound, superb and stylish, forms this world of the mind that’s completely mind-blowing and mind-bending.

Best Performance: Marion Cotillard as Mal
Best Scene: Hallway fight scene

.

.

.

.

Again, I did not personally agree with the Academy’s pick (I almost did!), but it’s still a very deserving film.

After The King’s Speech, The Social Network was the unquestionably # 2 on the ballots.

The Fighter is # 3 for some weird reasons, I think it is.

# 4 must have been Toy Story 3 for was able to build a fanbase for 15 years (wow.).

# 5 was Black Swan because it really has some die-hard fans.And those who love the film really love the film.

# 6 is Inception for having the Christopher Nolan fanbase.

# 7 is True Grit for the Coen Bros’ fans in the Academy, and the fact that it got, well, big amount of support from the Academy, over-all (10 nominations, to keep the record).

# 8 is Winter’s Bone for they might have been carried away by Jennifer Lawrence, as you know, one of Hollywood’s biggest things in recent memory.

#9 is 127 Hours for James Franco’s performance, and for Danny Boyle (traces of Slumdog Millionaire, anyone).

# 10 is The Kids Are All Right. I don’t know. Look at the Academy. They’re full of conservative Caucasian old men. Would they actually go with something that’s currently a taboo? Just a thought. =)

Before I finish this post, I just want to say sorry for the awful pacing that I had in writing this whole year. It’s just that I need to do a lot of stuff since it’s gonna be college days for me two months from now. And school stuff’s eating my time. So, whatever. I hope you understand.

What’s you pick? Do you agree with the Academy, or with me, or you have a different choice?

.

Next year clue? Places where the stories are set (or at least partially set).

Vietnam, Britain, studio, prison.

😛

4 thoughts on “THE VERDICT – Best Motion Picture: 2010

  1. I kind of disagree on your ranking for me:
    1.Black Swan 10/10
    2.The Social Network 9.5/10
    3.Inception 9.5/10
    4.Winter’s Bone 9/10
    5.127 Hours 8.5/10
    6.Toy Story 3 8.5/10
    7.The King’s Speech 8/10
    8.The Kids are All Right 7.5/10
    9.The Fighter 7/10
    10.True Grit 7/10

    1978 is the next year, I think. 🙂

    Like

  2. Nicely done! I legitimately adore all of these movies except The King’s Speech, which I think is just good. My choice waffles between Black Swan, The Social Network, and Toy Story 3 on any given day. Inception lost a LOT for me on a second viewing, but I get the love. 🙂

    Like

Please comment on the post - don't just read it! Lemme hear your thoughts.

