I haven’t posted for almost a month already. Rats!

I know. It’s been really dry here. As dry as summer. I have this summer job that makes me so busy the whole day that I’m so tired by night. But I’ll make it up to you, guys. Added to the delay is the fact that the next nominee to be discussed is THERE WILL BE BLOOD. Any clues now?

Anyway, I have watched some films last year. Here are some thoughts:

I thought the film was very well made. The performances were good. There are only two or three boring scenes. I slept in 5 minutes of it, but I woke up and I was still in the same scene. But the ending was awful! I mean, they should have ended the movie with the close up on Jim Sturgess’ face. With those documentary-like part, and that TV ending, it just fell there. Too bad, the last 5 minutes of the film made me actually think that the movie’s bad.

Paprika Steen (Applaus) and Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole) were fantastic.

Eat Pray Love is actually good. Let me put it in this way. New York – good. Italy – great. India – okay. Bali – beautiful. Not a bad film after all.

Scott Pilgrim vs the World is awesome, though I don’t love it as much as the others.

Greenberg was cute. Not really that fun, but the two leads were great. And the ending is so sweet. It took me two viewings of the ending for me to understand that.

Buried was thrilling.

The Tourist is very exciting. I don’t get the haters, actually..

Any thoughts?

2 thoughts on “I haven’t posted for almost a month already. Rats!

  1. sorry, but I disagree with a lot of what u wrote πŸ™‚

    as soon as the trip started, The Way Back really lost ground. it felt like a badly written film and Jim Sturgess gave an annoying performance.

    Paprika Steen gets a flashy role, and she’s ok, but nothing more in my opinion. I actual thought overall the film was better than her performance – she’s great to look at, but I didn’t see any difficulty in the part.

    yes, Nicole’s great. I agree πŸ™‚

    Eat Pray Love had issues in finding a purpose and a meaning. but Julia was fine.

    I completely disliked Scott Pilgrim, other than the technical part – which is good. it’s overdirected as hell and disappointing all around.

    Greenberg was depresing. it would’ve been much better without Ben Stiller, I thought.

    haven’t seen Buried.

    The Tourist seemed decent enough, but the “twist”, the ending is RIDICULOUS. :)) RIDICULOUS. completely out of nowhere and with no believability, I thought.

    angelina looked great. dunno why people were bitching about that.

    Like

    • On The Way Back – actually, your review of the film made me completely worry that the film is going to be bad. The screenplay didn’t matter for me anymore in the journey because it’s more of an experience movie, like Titanic.

      On Eat Pray Love – it’s somewhat pointless, actually, if you’re going to look at it very deeply. it’s like a very character driven movie that doesn’t care anymore if it has a plot, it just focuses so much on Julia.

      On Scot Pilgrim – you were the first person that I know who hated this πŸ™‚ . it’s just not for everyone.

      On Greenberg – the trailer was somewhat misleading because it looked like a serious comedy, but after all, it’s not a comedy. I see it as a drama.

      On The Tourist = the twist… I was actually confused by it. I didn’t understand that in first viewing, so I have to rewind it. When I already figured it out, it was like “okay. really? was it?” somewhat unbelievable, and it didn’t quite work, but it’s fun.

      And Angelina definitely looked stunning and classy. πŸ™‚

      Like

Please comment on the post - don't just read it! Lemme hear your thoughts.

