What the hell happened? Nerve-wrcking nominations!

Lemme start with this.

 

BEST MOTION PICTURE – 10/10

Plain surprising. I was almost breathless when I heard 127 Hours. Considering the fact that I haven’t seen it yet. . . . .

BEST DIRECTOR – 4/5

Where did the Coen Bros come from? I’m really sad for Chris Nolan, as he really deserves to get a nom for that great movie! But I can’t judge True Grit yet cuz I haven’t seen it yet. Still, Inception lost its play in the race. Sci-fi bias? Or pure Nolan snub?

BEST LEAD ACTOR – 4/5

I never believed in Bardem. Sorry.

BEST LEAD ACTRESS – 4/5

Maybe I believed in Manville too much.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – 4/5

Where is Andrew Garfield? Now we know that SAG weighs heavier than Globes.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – 4/5

Thought Kunis was safe. . . . . But I was almost saw Weaver coming in. . .

.

Twas a more exciting year than last year. Still, regrets for Inception (no Best Director), The Social Network (no Best Supp Actor nom), and Black Swan (no Screenplay nom). Thoughts?

4 thoughts on “What the hell happened? Nerve-wrcking nominations!

  1. i also feel sorry for Nolan and Garfield (which would’ve been my favorite from the Supporting Actor line-up).

    from the 10 BP, I only need to see True Grit, and I’ve had its screener for more than a week now but didn’t get the time or mood to see. Otherwise, King’s Speech is my least favorite and even though I wanted a more surprising year, Social Network is the better film of the 2.

    Like

    • Why didn’t you like The King’s Speech that much? And in the nominees, which would you have picked for Best Picture?

      Anyway, I’m really glad someone also feel sorry for Nolan and Garfield. They deserved noms!

      Like

  2. well, I just didn’t like any of the characters in the film, especially the leading one. I just didn’t care about him, and that’s always a problem when he’s carrying the whole damn film.
    Helena had the most likeable characters, but she hardly has anything to do, and Geoffrey Rush is quite cool himself.

    but the story just fell flat for me and it didn’t seem staged properly.

    i didn’t dislike it as much as others, but it’s still like a B-

    I need to see Inception again. for me, it’s either that or Toy Story 3.

    Like

Please comment on the post - don't just read it! Lemme hear your thoughts.

